Community League

Our Community League centers around our Community Hall, where we strive to bring the community together.  The Community League is a non-profit organization and has a board of Directors made up of volunteers.

We are currently looking for more enthusiastic people to join our board.  No experience, no problem!  Have a flair on the computer – are you a student looking for experience? Our Treasurer position will be open at our next Town Hall in April – why not be trained prior to by our current treasurer!   We would love for the younger families in our neighbourhood to get involved.  Time commitment is one meeting per month (no meeting in December or July) and based on the position it usually doesn’t amount to more than a few hours a month.  Please consider getting involved and making your community great!

The Current Community League Board:

President: Vacant
Vice-President: Denis Ricard
Treasurer: Ken Grovet

Secretary: Violet Poon 

Past President:  Trevor Eliott
Casino Director: Barb Brazel
Communications Director:  Vacant
Crime Prevention Director: Vacant
Events Director: Vacant
Membership Director: Vacant
Social Director:  Violet Poon
Website Director:  Vacant 

Director at Large:  Amanda Percy

Facility Manager:  Cathy Johannesson
Soccer Coordinator: Cathy Johannesson

La Perle

“La Perle is located in Edmonton’s west end, south of 100th Avenue and west of 178th Street. The neighbourhood’s western boundary is formed by the transportation/utility corridor and the Anthony Henday ring road.

The neighbourhood developed primarily in the 1980s and 1990s. Development started in the southeast corner of the neighbourhood with the construction of row housing and low-rise apartments. Almost all of the single-family houses were built in the 1980s. As a fully developed neighbourhood, La Perle provides an even mixture of single-family and multi-unit residences.

The neighbourhood features the central La Perle Elementary school and a two-hectare park site. The La Perle Shopping Centre is located at the centre of the neighbourhood. For all major commercial services, West Edmonton Mall is located in the nearby neighbourhood of Summerlea, and a range of commercial services are located along the nearby 170th Street.

La Perle is named after Eleodore Joseph (Leo) LaPerle, who was born in Ontario on April 9, 1895. His father moved with his family to Edmonton in 1906 and opened a general store at the Winterburn Corner. Leo LaPerle took over his father’s store in 1929, which operated until 1969 when it was torn down.”